Coaching Staff


Former National Coach of the Year and NCAA Champion, Elmar Bolowich, led the Bluejays Men's Varsity Soccer team to two College Cups in 2011 and 2012. Prior to joining the Jays, Coach Bolowich was at the helm at North Carolina from 1989 to 2010. The winningest coach in the history of North Carolina men’s soccer is now bringing those winning ways to Creighton.

Bolowich led the Tar Heels to their first national title in program history to conclude the 2001 season. He guided UNC to 15 NCAA Tournament appearances and four College Cups, including three straight trips to college soccer’s Final Four in his final three seasons in Chapel Hill. Six of his teams advanced to at least the quarterfinal round of the NCAA Tournament and three teams captured at least a share of the ACC regular-season title in addition to winning the 2000 ACC Tournament championship. Bolowich, a two-time ACC Coach of the Year (2000, 2010), led his teams to ACC regular-season titles in 2000, 2009 and 2010, putting together an unbeaten mark (7-0-1) in one of the nation's strongest soccer conference in 2010. He is one of only five active coaches in NCAA Division I soccer to lead a team to six College Cup appearances.
Read More »


Johnny Torres - Camp Coordinator, Assistant Men's Coach-Creighton

Two-time National Player of the Year and Creighton Athletics Hall of Famer Johnny Torres is back for his fifth season on the Bluejay bench, following a decade-long professional soccer career. Arguably the greatest soccer star in Creighton and Missouri Valley Conference history, Torres played for the Bluejays from 1994-97.

Twice in Torres’ first four seasons on the Bluejay bench, the Creighton men’s soccer staff has been honored as the MVC Coaching Staff of the Year, earning the nod in 2008 and 2010. His roles on the coaching staff include scouting, recruiting and training. He also plays a major role in working with student-athletes on service projects in the Omaha area.
Read More »

Justin Hughes - Camp Goalkeeper Coach, Assistant Men's Coach-Creighton

Justin Hughes, a former collegiate and professional goalkeeper reunited with his college coach Elmar Bolowich in his first season on the Creighton coaching staff this past fall. Hughes was a four-year letterwinner at North Carolina, playing under Bolowich from 2003-06. Following a standout collegiate career, he was drafted by the Colorado Rapids of Major League Soccer and spent two seasons with the Rapids.

“Justin will be a very good addition to our staff,” said Bolowich. “His primary responsibility will be to work with our goalkeepers, as I feel that’s a special position that deserves special attention. Having been a four-year collegiate goalkeeper and a professional keeper, he certainly brings in experience and expertise. I know him well, having coached him for four years. He has a tremendous work ethic and passion for the game and I’m very excited to have him join us here.”
Read More »

Top coaches from Divisions I, II, and III, NAIA and NJCAA and nationally licensed coaches who were chosen to work at the Academy for their outstanding teaching ability and their vast experience in soccer.
Chris Kranjc - Head Coach at Hastings College
Matt Briggs - Head Coach at Bellevue College
TJ Buchholtz - Head Coach at Northwestern
Art Busha - Head Coach at Concordia
Oliver Twelvetrees - Head Coach at Barton College
Bret Simon - Head Coach at Stanford University
Mike Gabb - Goalkeeping trainer at Creighton
Paul Harvey - Creighton Assistant
Rick Carpenter - former National Coach of the Year
Tim Sartori - Former St. Louis star and now at Chaminade

Matt Wieland - Creighton All American and MLS draft pick
Ryan Lakin - Head Coach Illinois Wesleyan
Aaron Champenoy - Head Coach University of St. Thomas
Nathan Mason - Head Coach Iowa Central College
Wally Crittenden - University of Nebraska assistant
Barry Slagle - Colorado School of Mines

MLS Players- Richard Mulrooney, David Wagenfuhr, Nic Garcia, Jackie Jewsberry, Brian Kamler, Will Hesmer, Tony Schmitz, Tim Bohenkamp, Bret Rodriguez, Julian Nash, Michael Kraus, Andy Peterson, Ryan Junge and others.